Tea Fit For a Queen

I had my first high tea experience on the weekend… and I’ll be back for more!

Drinking tea like the Queen took place at the Duxton Hotel in Perth.

The spread included gourmet sandwiches (the black forest ham with brie and plum chutney is to die for), mouth-watering petite sweets (strawberry custard tartlet was my fav), cupcakes, biscuits and of course, scones with jam and a dollop of cream.

Oh and did I mention the tea? The grandest tea list I’ve laid eyes on, ranging from the ever popular chai, to fruity concoctions with names like Morning Dew and Oolong Formosa Grand, all sourced from different corners of the globe.

We shared our pots of tea, and the hot water refills came as a pleasant surprise (never before have I consumed so much tea in one sitting!)

For 26 bucks it’s a nice girly afternoon out, and makes a refreshing change from the usual lunch or dinner dates – just don’t take the boys, they’ll eat everything.

See the Duxton High Tea menu

I wonder where I can buy Plum Chutney…

Leave a Reply

